Breadth of Learning in an Atmosphere of Inquiry

The Liberal Arts Core requires courses in designated fields of study at both introductory and advanced levels. The Liberal Arts Core includes requirements which can be completed by taking designated courses in the core, the major, or elective. These are called University Requirements.

There are University Requirements in the following:

  • Experiential Learning (EXP)
  • Global Perspective (GP)
  • Inquiry Learning (DSINQ)
  • Writing-Intensive (WI)

There are Liberal Arts Core requirements in the following:

  • Humanities
    • Introductory and Advanced History (HI-1 and HI-2)
    • Introductory and Advanced Literature (LT-1 and LT-2)
    • Fine Arts (FNA)
  • Mathematics and Sciences
    • Mathematics (MT)
    • Natural Science (NS)
    • Introductory and Advanced Social Science (SS-1 and SS-2)
  • Philosophy and Theology
    • Introductory and Advanced Philosophy/Philosophical Ethics moral principles courses (PH-1, PH-2, and PH-E)
    • Introductory and Advanced Theology and Religious Studies/Theological Ethics moral principles courses (TRS-1, TRS-2, and TRS-E)
  • Written Communication (WR)

A full list of courses identified as fulfilling University Requirements or the Liberal Arts Core follows. Any course that fulfills either requirement is also noted in the Course Descriptions. Such courses include the appropriate designation, such as EXP, GP, etc.