Powered by SmartCatalog IQ

Transfer Policies

The Washington area attracts many residents and students from other parts of the country and the world. For this reason Marymount is especially responsive to students transferring directly from other institutions or bringing academic credits earned elsewhere. Transfer students receive academic counseling from advisors who pay special attention to the quality of prior academic learning as well as degree completion requirements.

Credit will be considered if the following criteria are met:

  • Courses must be completed at regionally accredited institutions.
  • Courses must be completed with a grade of C or higher.
  • Courses may not be taken pass/fail.

Acceptance of course credits earned elsewhere for credit toward degree requirements occurs at the sole discretion of Marymount University. Courses for which credit will not be considered include but are not limited to: remedial courses, English language, vocational courses, orientation courses, career preparation courses, student success courses, and experiential courses such as internships, independent studies, projects, practica, and capstones.

Undergraduate courses older than 10 years will be considered for credit but may be subject to review by the appropriate school and associate dean to determine the timeliness of the content and methodologies. Marymount University does not normally accept for transfer equivalent community college specialized courses whose content appears comparable to junior- or senior-level courses at Marymount.

The application of transferred course credits toward specific program requirements is determined by the designated faculty in the relevant discipline in consultation with the school directors and the registrar. Grades earned at other institutions or through examinations do not count in the student’s Marymount grade point average.
Transfer applications are welcome at any stage of degree completion. To be considered for admission, a transfer applicant should have a cumulative 2.0 grade point average.